Yasushi Suzuki Art Works : Eyes Book Review

Posted By yonghow on August 24th, 2016

Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review

Yasushi Suzuki Art Works : Eyes ( The Japanese title is “Shisen”, which translates better as “line of sight/gaze”, rather than Eyes ) is a collection of illustrated works by Japanese artist Yasushi Suzuki. Starting out as a designer for a game company in 1997 ( one of his credits include visuals for the shooter game Ikaruga, which I’m a big fan ), Yasushi now works as a freelance illustrator.

The book features art work from his novel covers for The Mysterious Thief ( since adapted into a Japanese TV series ), Psychic Detective Yakumo, Game Of Thrones (Japanese edition), as well as personal art work and illustrations from his 2013 solo exhibition.

Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review
Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Book Review

Fans of The Mysterious Thief and Psychic Detective Yakumo will certainly find this of interest, I personally like the illustration covers he created for the Japanese edition of George R.R. Martin’s Game Of Thrones novels. Recommended.

“Yasushi Suzuki Art Works – Eyes” art book details :

– Dimensions : 25.7 x 18.4 x 1.6 cm
– Softcover, 152 pages
– Full color, in Japanese language

Yasushi Suzuki Art Works - Eyes Art Book Amazon Japan Buy Link
Buy From Amazon.com | Buy From Amazon CA | Buy From Amazon UK

You might also be interested in these items :

How To Order From Amazon Japan - Detailed Buying Guide

Buying From Amazon Japan FAQ

16

5 Responses to “Yasushi Suzuki Art Works : Eyes Book Review”

DISTRAKT

The forms, composition, and color got me hooked.

bungcarol

that Khaleesi is jawdropping!! Thanks for reviewing this Yonghow!

yonghow

Lefterstein – About 20-25% of the book features art work from Shinrei Tantei Yakumo. Hope that helps !

Coulis

Hey Yonghow, are there any Ikaruga illustration in this artbook? Considering biting the bullet on this.

yonghow

Coulis – Sadly, much as I like the Ikaruga illustrations he did, there is none featured in this book. Sorry ! If you like his art though I don’t think buying it would be a mistake. :]