Rumble – James Harren Comic Book Review

Posted By yonghow on July 26th, 2017

Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review

Rumble is a fantasy fight comic by writer John Arcudi and artist James Harren. The story follows a Scarecrow Warrior God named Rathraq on a vengeance mission against his age-old enemies, powerful demons who have stolen his immortal body form.

I’ve been a big fan of James Harren’s art ever since his work in the Hellboy spinoff comic BPRD, which showcases some incredible action scenes illustrated by the artist. With BPRD writer John Arcudi penning the story for Rumble, as well as renowned colorist Dave Stewart on board the project I knew I had check this out.

Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review

James Harren brings to Rumble much of what made BPRD : Hell On Earth such a great read; impactful action sequences and beautifully designed creatures and monsters.

Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review

(above & below) The volume also includes some concept art sketches and additional art work by the artist at the end of the book.

Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review
Rumble - James Harren Comic Book Review

Fans of Hellboy and BPRD will certainly find Rumble of interest, and James Harren’s superb art work is definitely worth a look. At the time of writing 3 volumes have been published, and I’m hoping they will be compiled into a hardcover library edition just like Hellboy and BPRD in the near future.

If you haven’t already read the Hell On Earth arc of the BPRD comic ( or any of BPRD at all ), I highly recommend it.

“Rumble Vol 1 – James Harren″ comic book details :

– Dimensions – 6.5 x 0.5 x 10 inches
– Soft cover, 144 pages
– Full color

Rumble - James Harren Amazon Buy Link
Buy From Amazon CA | Buy From Amazon UK | Buy From Amazon Japan

You might also be interested in these items :

How To Order From Amazon Japan - Detailed Buying Guide

Buying From Amazon Japan FAQ

22

4 Responses to “Rumble – James Harren Comic Book Review”

Martin

LOVE JAMES HARREN. By a large margin he is my favorite north american mainstream comic artist. I’m pretty jaded when it comes to mainstream comics but I’m glad I discovered him years ago on B.P.R.D. (specifically the Long Death story-arc). Super talented dude and he makes it looks effortless. I like his medley of influences from comic artists all around the world, and thats including the older great comic artists.
My only wish is he’d step away from doing the mainstream comics and do a graphic novel, I can tell his work is rushed sometimes because of the mainstream schedule.

deepanshu titiyal

This looks promising I’ll go buy it

yonghow

Martin – Yeah a graphic novel from him would be wicked ! I really liked his work in BPRD, one of the highlights of the series.

deepanshu – Recommended. :]

Chris

I usually don’t really get into Western comics but I’ll give this a try based on the recommendation and the images you’ve posted (the art looks great).